9 Psychological Thriller Dramas You Can Read If You Liked Watching Ratched

PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER DRAMAS
Spread the love

The Netflix thriller Ratched erased the line between sanity and insanity. It is based on Ken Kesey’s book One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. Sarah Paulson as Nurse Ratched is a terrifying character. Finn Wittrock, Sharon Stone, Judy Davis, and Cynthia Nixon are other vital characters in the series.

Sarah Paulson Can't 'Cure Lesbianism' in Netflix's 'Ratched' Trailer

If you have or haven’t watched the Netflix series Ratched yet, here are 9 spine-chilling psycho-thrillers to read.

Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood

Buy Alias Grace Book Online at Low Prices in India | Alias Grace Reviews & Ratings - Amazon.in

Atwood’s book is a wonderful execution of madness. The versatile storytelling brings Grace as one of the best mentally disturbed characters. The grim memory of Grace is told in a subtle yet firm passion that keeps you hooked from page one to the end.

I Never Promised You a Rose Garden by Stephanie Dunnewind

I Never Promised You a Rose Garden : Joanne Greenberg : 9780312943592

Dunnewind’s novel brings to life Deborah who slips into an abysmal depression. The portrayal of the thin gap between the real and fantasy marks this book as a good thriller. It’s a splendid book that explains the extent to which the human mind can escalate.

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

Rebecca: Maurier, Daphne Du: 9781844080380: Amazon.com: Books

Similar to Jane Eyre, Rebecca is about Mrs. Maxim who is haunted by the madwoman in the house. It’s none other than her husband’s first wife. It pushes her to a point of insane dilemma. The book is an epitome of modern imagination and psychological cues.

Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty

Buy Nine Perfect Strangers Book Online at Low Prices in India | Nine Perfect Strangers Reviews & Ratings - Amazon.in

What’s waiting for the nine strangers who visit a remote health resort? Moriarty brings the unfathomable secrets hidden to the surface in this brilliant psychological thriller. The sly humor, wit, and a wide cast heighten up the thrill and shrill in the book.

Stillhouse Lake by Rachel Caine

Stillhouse Lake (Stillhouse Lake, #1) by Rachel Caine

A coy housewife displaces her trust on the only man she could ever believe: her husband. This one is about how our emotions fool us and lead us into a death-trap. The book satiates the readers’ craving for a jostling psychological conundrum.

The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine

The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine

What happens when envy becomes stronger than any other force in the world? Amber wants to usurp Daphne’s wealth. It’s much more than greed; envy that takes the readers deeper into the psyche of a femme fatale. A scandalous thriller that puts your patience to test with such fictional twists.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

The Silent Patient: Amazon.in: Michaelides, Alex: Books

Alicia’s paintings hide her real notions like a masque. When it’s shattered, she is forced to hold on to her pretence. The mental state of Alicia is carved beautifully by the author which makes it an expertly structured suspense. The book pinches your nerves with rage and confusion.

An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks

An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks

A simple empirical study turns into a deadly insane one. Jessica Farris is one of the subjects enrolled in Dr. Shields’ experiments. Little does she know that she traded her mental peace in return for a wholesome compensation. Delusional to the core, the book is a cat and mouse chase of morality.

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

“Lizzie Borden took an axe, And gave her mother forty whacks; When she saw what she had done, She gave her father forty-one.” That’s how the rhyme goes. The book is based on a true story of 1892 and truer chills that the murder mystery gives even today. Sarah’s book emanates a deeper thought into the human psyche.

Which was the last psychological thriller you read?