10 Things You Need to Know About The Hugo Awards 2020

Spread the love

Hugo Awards, a premier annual honorary award in science fiction, fantasy works and achievements of the previous year is back with its 2020 edition. 

On 7 April 2020, Worldcon announced the shortlisted nominees for this year. The awards were first presented in 1953 and presented annually since 1955. The Worldcon will be hosting its 78th annual convention on 1 August 2020. Initially, it was decided that the event would be scheduled to take place in New Zealand but due to the travel restrictions, safety concerns and COVID-19 global pandemic crisis, the organisers decided to upgrade the entire event to be taken place virtually for the present year.


The process behind The Hugo Award

 It starts processing during January-March with each member of Worldcon nominating people or works from the previous year under different categories including Best Novel, Dramatic Presentation, Editor, Series, Professional Magazine, Graphic Story etc. Each member of Worldcon is allowed to nominate up to five people across different categories. In April the organizers announce the shortlisted candidates which are followed by the members receiving a ballot to cast their vote for their desired nominees. The members receive a preferential ballot which entitles them to rank all the nominees. Based on the votes, winners are decided and are recognised with a specially curated trophy.

Two New Zealand artists, John Flower and James Brown have been selected by The Worldcon to design the 2020 Hugo Award and 1945 Retrospective Hugo Award Trophy awards. 


Exciting Nominations this year 

Two Indian origin authors have been shortlisted for the same category. Shiv Ramdas, an Indian origin science fiction author has been nominated this year and has made up to Best Short Story category. The nomination is for his short story named And Now His Lordship is Laughing. The story is a Bengal based pre-independence scenario where an elderly woman who makes dolls stands up to the colonial regime. Nibedita Sen, another India based writer for Ten Excerpts from an Annotated Bibliography on the Cannibal Women of Ratnabar India.  Along with Ramdas and Sen, Alix E Harrow, SL Huang and Fran Wilde are competing for the same trophy.


Can you vote?

Yes, you can vote too. 


You just need to become a member of the current year’s World Science Fiction Convention. Attending the Convention is not a mandatory criterion for nominating or voting. Good luck with that. 

And let’s route for all the nominees we want to see the trophies with. 

Looking for your nest best read? Find them here